Point Zero

26 Aug

Point Zero is a bronze medallion set in the cobblestone courtyard of the Notre Dame de Paris Cathedral. The medallion is officially the point where distances to different places are measured from Paris.

It is also the point of departure for pilgrims following the Chemin de St. Jacques de Compostelle (the Camino de Santiago) from Paris.

It is our departure point. It is our Point Zero for the Camino.

Point Zero Notre Dame

As we prepare to follow the Camino, I want to take a moment and lay out where I find myself at Point Zero.

I am excited and don’t even try to fathom what to expect. I expect both pure joy and pure frustration.

It seems that in almost every documentary or interview people always ask each pilgrim, “Why are you doing this?” I don’t know why we even bother to ask anymore as we all have the same reply, “Because.”

I am not religious. I definitely believe in God. I do not believe in Jesus (like much of the Earth’s population). I do believe that there are people who are blessed with coming closer with God, like Jesus, Mohamed, Buddha, etc.  I am not walking the Camino for any one religious reason, however I am doing a pilgrimage and there is a sense of reverence that is present in my mind and heart. For me, I will walk the Camino in honor of my grandparents Cunningham who have both passed away. My grandmother was quite religious and very dedicated to The Virgin Mary, Notre Dame. I hope in some way that Mary will be my guide along the Camino.

The other reason for doing the Camino is that I am doing it for me. It is wonderful to have the time and means to just walk for five weeks with my husband/life partner/best friend.

What I am looking forward to the most is the reflect back and see the change from Point Zero to Point Santiago. Buen Camino!

One Response to “Point Zero”

  1. kristiwiley@runkwrun.blogspot.com August 26, 2013 at 07:58 #

    That is the same reason why I want to walk the Camino. I’m not religious by any means at all, but I know that spiritually, I will feel that connection of something bigger than me. I’m doing it for me and I hope that Jim and I will be able to walk it some day, as well.

Leave a Reply

