What IS the Camino de Santiago?

14 Jun

It has come to my attention that the Camino de Santiago is not as universal as it initially seemed to me. Since you are my dear readers, and plus I want to learn something new, I want to introduce you to the Camino and really what to expect when AJ and I embark on this journey.

Before I Google “Camino de Santiago,” I want to tell you what I think it is. I want to see how right or wrong I am.

To me, right now, the Camino de Santiago, or the Walk of Saint James, is a pilgrimage that starts when you take the idea of doing the Camino in your mind. Pilgrims have done this for centuries. I will walk in their foot steps. You can follow a number of different routes, but we will be following the Camino Frances (or French Walk). This route originates from St. Jean Pied de Port in France and goes through the Alps to the cathedral in Santiago de Compostela. I imagine that we will walk around 300 kilometers over about 30 to 35 days. The scallop shell is the symbol of the pilgrim.

Shell

Now let’s take a moment to let that sink in…

30 to 35 days quietly walking side-by-side (or not) next to my Husband Extraordinaire. Sleeping outside and in auberges. Eating camp food… or eating lots of pinchos and hopefully lots of octopus. We will be walking with 5 to 10 kilos of equipment. Some days are going to be great. Others it’s going to rain. I’ll be grumpy on those days. Some days I will want to sleep next to my Husband Extraordinaire, some days I won’t. This is a REAL pilgrimage. I’m curious to see what we find.

What is the real Way of St. James, el Camino de Santiago, according to Google?

Starting in the medieval ages, traditionally this pilgrimage was started from one’s home until the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela, where is is said that the remains of St. James were interred. The pilgrimage was done to earn indulgences. (!) It will take us about 30 to 35 days and we will walk a total of… 709.2 kilometers.

Pamplona to Santiago de Compostela

Along the way, we will stop in numerous auberges and get stamps so when we reach the end we will receive a certificate confirming the completion of the Camino.

Camino Passport

The interesting thing is the different ways that AJ and I are preparing for the Camino. AJ is more cerebral and preparing mentally for him AND me. I am much more concerned with being comfortable walking with gear since I am so small and having enough food and water along the way so I don’t turn into a calorie deprived monster.

Somehow I know we will be OK and this will be a journey of a lifetime. AJ is already thinking about when we can do it… again. I think I have the perfect husband and such a wonderful chance!

Passport photo credit: Finding my Way on the Way

One Response to “What IS the Camino de Santiago?”

  1. kristiwiley June 17, 2013 at 07:48 #

    Woohooo! I’m so excited for you. Mainly because I want someone I know that has done it so I can pick their brain with an annoyance before I do it.

Leave a comment