Camino Gear, the Big Three

26 Jun

In preparing for the Camino de Santiago, there are three big pieces of gear that we have to invest in: boots; bags; and socks.

As you remember from my post on Socks and 15k steps we spent quite a pretty penny on socks. AJ loves the socks and has been test walking them daily. (He even asked me to smell his socks after wearing them for two days! No ripe cheese smelling feet here!) I was not quite sold since my toes were a little squished and my feet were hot. I did find some CoolMax socks at GoSports. I am not quite sure if I will keep the ones I have or try out a pair of CoolMax. Questions, questions.

After being beaten down by the French Visa process, I was in a foul mood when we went and tried on (for a third time) boots and backpacks. I found some that I liked that were light and not too expensive (125 euros), but they were not waterproof. I just was down and couldn’t decide. AJ was all about boots and zealously tried on every boot in the store — with a smile. The sales person even remembered him and came and said hello (read about it here: Preparation J)! AJ picked out a pair that he liked that would be on sale beginning Wednesday, but they didn’t have the size he wanted. Should he settle with those? Alternatively, he found some shoes that he liked (“That Navy SEALS and Air Force Special Forces wear!”) that were 145 euros.

AJ asked me about my sour mood. I told him how the visa process was frustrating, how I didn’t like my socks, how I couldn’t find a pair of boots with all the features, I couldn’t decide on a bag, AND the boots at this store were expensive. Overall, I was bummed. He comforted me and we agreed to go to the next store to again try on the boots that I had originally liked.

I have to stop and make a point. During our shopping trip I had loaded up my backpack with all my gear (except a water bottle) and walked to store one and rode on the metro to store two wearing my full pack. I was emotionally and physically charged, to say the least.

We got to store two and no sooner did I get to the backpack aisle, AJ disappeared. He was not there for me to turn around and ask every minute, “What do you think?” I had to make the decision quietly and in my own mind. I picked out the three bags I was looking at and put my gear in each one. After reading the binder of info on backpacks, I noticed they had one that was between 30 and 40 liters. I looked around for it.

I found a Forclaz 37 liter Ultralight (0.9 kilograms) backpack that was streamlined for a small person! It had everything I was looking for: lightweight; an interior system for a water bladder and tube; a “hood” for a raincover and extra food space; a zipper for easy front access; accessory hooks on the outside (think: drying laundry); and padded hip and chest straps. It did not have an exterior mesh water bottle pocket, but it does have zip pockets on the side, so I can improvise if necessary. As girly as it sounds, it is the opposite accent colors to AJ’s pack! Yay!

As soon as I decided, AJ appeared in the backpack aisle wearing some nice boots. They were the correct size of the boots he really liked (and only 130 euros). I tried on boots with the double-layer socks and a polyester sock. The ones I chose were the ones that sales guy at the first store recommended for intense use AND they were on sale! (80 euros)

So we now have our big three: socks; bags; and boots!

Now for training and lots of walking….

Or just walking like a normal Parisian!

18k steps

Leave a comment